Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

So, I just finished reading the Healing Power of Trees by Sharlyn Hidalgo.

In this book she discusses the Celtic Tree Year and their association with the Ogham and Norse Runes.  I did enjoy this book, and I do believe in the power of trees.  Trees have been intensely important to me throughout my entire life. Many of my friends have been trees. I feel very strongly about the healing power of trees.

After reading this, I wanted to add this mythology – the tree year, to my own practice.  Yet, living in Texas, not all of the trees she mentioned are prominent here.  I decided that it was a worthwhile endeavor to devise my own lunar tree system with trees present here.

I decided to include only trees that are truly native to Texas, and that seem to embody that month for me. Below is the year and their tree correspondences.  Note that each tree’s month begins on the Dark of Moon:

Hawthorn ~ 26 October, 2011

Pecan ~ 25 November, 2011

Holly ~ 24 December, 2011

Sycamore ~ 23 January, 2012

Elm ~ 21 February, 2012

Redbud ~ 22 March, 2012

Mountain Laurel ~ 21 April, 2012

Magnolia ~ 20 May, 2012

Oak ~ 19 June, 2012

Hackberry ~ 19 July, 2012

Persimmon ~ 17 August, 2012

Chinaberry ~ 16 September, 2012

Mesquite ~ 15 October, 2012

This is a work in progress, so I will likely amend it as it becomes clearer……

