Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I am an avid watcher of documentaries.  Being a film buff in general, I appreciate most all genres of film, but the documentary is my main staple.  Working from home, I can most often be found sitting in front of my computer plugging away at my work and “listening” to a documentary.

Today, I listened to Ancient Mysteries: Witches, a documentary narrated by my first love ~ Spock aka Leonard Nimoy.  It was not an intentional tangent, but just a few days earlier I had watched the Salem Witch Trials film starring Kirstie Alley. As a result, I am left to truly ponder this Human Atrocity.

Though I am aware of crowd psychology, having read a couple of books on the subject, it never fails to amaze me the way that people turn into herds and act without their rational mind in the face of such hysteria.  Even small moments amaze me, let alone such insanity as the Holocaust or the Witch Trials. I recall going to a Marilyn Manson show while I was in high school (yes, I really did) and seeing folks doing whatever he (Marilyn) said, without thought of the implications or meaning behind the words or actions they were being told to do.  It frightened me, that kind of power.

I have never been one take anything at face value.  I like to get to the core of something before I can fully process it and decide whether or not that I believe in it, be it a cause, religion, theory, or otherwise.  I like to pick things apart and try to break it down by asking probing questions. I like think that I could not have stood by my neighbors as I watched innocent people being tortured to death for no apparent reason.

It is all well and good to say that, but could I really stand that test?  I work with refugees, as a volunteer. Hearing some of the stories of their torture and degradation, I probably would not be able to make the stand of a martyr.  However, knowing myself as I do, I find it quite likely I would have been one of those rounded up and called “Witch.”

 

