Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

The Havamal is one of the most well known portions of the Poetic Edda, considered the words of Odin. This collection of Odin’s words cover a broad range of topics. It contains proverbs, truths, advice, codes of contduct, runic spells, and much more.

First recorded by Snorri Sturluson, an Icelandic historian, around 1200 a.d. the Havamal is an amazing historical record. Having been passed down countless generations orally, this poem is a brilliant look into the life and mindset of the Nordic peoples.

Recently I read a ‘current’ translation of these ancient words. This translation is in modern speak, if you will. I did rather like it, and I recommend it for any person first encountering the Havamal or the Poetic Eddas, and wanting to read it for the first time. I also recommend it as a fresh translation for those who have already read Stuluson’s version. The book I speak of is Northern Wisdom by Eoghan Odinsson.

Enough said for now. I shall leave you with one of my favorite readings of the Runic portions of the Havamal. This is read by Ms. Freya Aswynn; author, vocalist, rune diva, and all around amazing woman.

 

