Many of us struggle in our daily practice. Holding to a routine each and every day can be difficult. Life seems to get in the way at various points. At the same time, I find that I can be a bit lazy at times…. even though I know that I have the most growth when I am being diligent about my daily practice.

In my daily practice, mornings are very important. In a household of 6 (3 children, one dog, and a hubby-type) It is very difficult to get any time to oneself. This is why I get up each morning before anyoneย  else does. I need the time alone to help me ground and center. This is my usual routine each morning:

  • Wake up and immediately write down any dream fragments I can remember. Soon I will be adding the Morning Pages writing to my list, as I am starting the Artist’s Way course.
  • Get up, have breakfast and clean out the email inbox (i.e. delete spam)
  • Wander about in my garden tending to the plants and appreciating their growth
  • Yoga
  • Meditation (sometimes I journey instead)
  • Make coffee or tea
  • Reading for pleasure
  • Then I begin work….

That is my morning routine. If I am able, I add in an evening ritual or journey work, but not on a daily basis. What is your daily practice like?

 

